# AGENDA SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MUNICIPAL DISTRICT OF PINCHER CREEK January 18, 2016 9:30 AM

- A. ADOPTION OF AGENDA
- B. APPOINTMENTS TO EMERGENCY SERVICES COMMISSION
  Report from CAO, dated January 15, 2016
- C. ADJOURNMENT

# TO:Reeve and CouncilFROM:Wendy Kay, Chief Administrative OfficerSUBJECT:Appointments to Emergency Services Commission

# 1. Origin

There has been some confusion over appointments made to the Emergency Services Commission by Council at their Organizational Meeting held in October 2015.

## 2. Background

In researching this matter, it would appear that under Ministerial Order MSL:005/15 (see attached), that our appointed representatives to the Emergency Services Commission should have remained the same (Reeve Hammond, Councillor Yagos), until after February 13, 2016.

Unfortunately, Council at their Organizational meeting held in October 2015, appointed Reeve Hammond and Councillor Stevick to the Emergency Services Commission.

In order for Bylaw No. 1 of the Emergency Services Commission to proceed, the members appointed by the Minister of Municipal Affairs, on February 13, 2015, must be those that are able to vote on Bylaw No. 1.

Administration is suggesting that Councillor Stevick's appointment be repealed, and Councillor Yagos be reappointed, to the Emergency Services Commission.

Upon receiving approval from the Minister of Municipal Affairs of Bylaw No. 1, Council could reconsider their appointments to the Emergency Services Commission.

### 3. Recommendation

THAT the report from the Chief Administrative Officer, dated January 15, 2016, regarding appointments to the Emergency Services Commission, be received;

AND THAT Council repeal the appointment of Councillor Stevick to the Emergency Services Commission;

AND FURTHER THAT Councillor Yagos be appointed to the Emergency Services Commission.

Respectfully Submitted,

W. Kay

W. Kay

# Wendy Kay

From:	Kai So <kai.so@gov.ab.ca></kai.so@gov.ab.ca>
Sent:	Thursday, March 26, 2015 11:56 AM
То:	Wendy Kay
Cc:	Laurie Wilgosh; Dave Cox (pcfire@telusplanet.net); Ryan N Edwards
Subject:	RE: Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission
Attachments:	March 11 2015 Letter.pdf

Hi Wendy,

The Minister designated Don Anderberg as the Chair of the Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission (please see attached letter of March 11, 2015 and accompanying ministerial order appointing the commission's board of directors). At this point, the commission board should be meeting to conduct business and to oversee the transfer of operations from the authority to the commission structure. The board of directors has until February 13, 2016 to approve the board appointments bylaw and to send in that board-approved bylaw to the Minister for her signature. Business by the board should continue during the Minister's approval of the bylaw. There is no need or requirement to halt business as the Minister's appointment through Ministerial Order No. MSL:005/15 provides the four directors the authority to make decisions from February 13, 2015 to February 13, 2016.

I hope this provides some clarity for you. Please contact me if you have any further questions or concerns. Regards,

Kai

Kai So

Manager, Municipal Sustainability and Information Alberta Municipal Affairs (<u>municipalaffairs.alberta.ca</u>) <u>kai.so@gov.ab.ca</u> | 780-427-7209

From: Wendy Kay [mailto:wkay@mdpinchercreek.ab.ca] Sent: Thursday, March 26, 2015 10:10 AM To: Kai So Cc: Laurie Wilgosh Subject: RE: Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission

Kai:

The Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission is meeting today to adopt Bylaw No. 1.

Under 602.04 (2) of the MGA, it states the Minister must designate one of the directors as the chair. Did the Minister do this?

We are somewhat confused as to where we are. Should we now be meeting as the Commission and identifying such within our agendas and minutes?

It is my understanding that Bylaw No. 1 has to be approved by the Minister, prior to any further business being undertaken. Is this correct?

Wendy Kay Chief Administrative Officer Phone: 403-627-3130 Fax: 403-627-5070



Office of the Minister

AR70053

March 11, 2015

Chairperson Don Anderberg Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission 655 Charlotte Street Pincher Creek AB T0K 1W0

Dear Chairperson Anderberg,

I am pleased to provide a copy of Ministerial Order No. MSL:005/15, appointing the board of directors and you, as Chair, for the Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission.

Please note that board members for the commission are appointed for one year. I encourage the board to approve a bylaw concerning board appointments, and the designation of the chairperson in accordance with Sections 602.04 and 602.07 of the *Municipal Government Act* prior to the expiry of the appointments.

I am also pleased to provide a copy of Ministerial Order No. MSL:006/15, authorizing the commission to provide emergency medical (ambulance) services across Alberta and into British Columbia and Saskatchewan, as required, in accordance with the commission's contract with Alberta Health Services. This Ministerial Order also authorizes the commission to provide mutual aid with respect to fire and rescue services on behalf of each member municipality of the commission once each municipality delegates this responsibility to the commission.

Please note that the authorization to provide emergency medical services is valid as long as the commission has a contract with Alberta Health Services.

I wish the commission success in its future endeavours.

Sincerely,

and maline

Diana McQueen Minister

Attachments

cc: Dave Cox Regional Fire Chief, Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission

204 Legislature Building 10800 97 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5K 2B6 Canada Telephone 780-427-3744 Fax 780-422-9550



MINISTERIAL ORDER NO. MSL:005/15

I, Diana McQueen, Minister of Municipal Affairs, pursuant to Section 602.04 of the *Municipal Government Act* make the following order:

1. The following persons are appointed as the Board of Directors for the Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission:

Municipality

<u>Director</u>

Municipal District of Pincher Creek No. 9 Municipal District of Pincher Creek No. 9 Town of Pincher Creek Town of Pincher Creek Brian Hammond Terry Yagos Don Anderberg Doug Thornton

- 2. Don Anderberg is designated as Chair of the Board of Directors.
- 3. The appointment of the board of directors is effective as of the date of signing and expires one year from this date.

Dated at Edmonton, Alberta, this	<u>/3_</u> day of	February	, 2015.
	, .	J	

Diana McQueen Minister of Municipal Affairs